June 4, 2008

  • Whey

    I have had several people ask me where they can get Whey.  To my knowledge this is not something you can purchase by itself at a store.  It is however super easy to make at home and one “batch” makes enough whey to last the average user several months of use in various cultured recipes.

    If you have access to Raw Milk use the following instructions.

    1/2 gallon of raw milk
    1 tablespoon plain Yogurt or 1 capsule pro biotics.

    Mix together and place in a glass jar on counter and cover with clean cloth and rubber band.  Leave for 2 to 4 days until milk separates.  Line a colander with cheese cloth and place over a large bowl.  Dump milk/liquid into this and leave for 12 to 24 hours.  Tie up corners of cheese cloth, loop over wooden spoon and hang over gallon glass jar until liquid (whey) stops dripping out of it.  What is left in the cheese cloth can be salted to taste and stored in the refrigerator for up to 1 month.  The “whey” can be put in a jar, tightly sealed and stored in the refrigerator for up to 6 months.

    For those of you who do not have access to Raw Milk use these directions.

    1 Quart of Plain (Preferably whole and organic) Yogurt

    Line a colander with cheese cloth and place over a large bowl.  Dump yogurt into this and leave for 12 to 24 hours.  Tie up corners of
    cheese cloth, loop over wooden spoon and hang over gallon glass jar
    until liquid (whey) stops dripping out of it.  What is left in the
    cheese cloth can be salted to taste and stored in the refrigerator for
    up to 1 month.  The “whey” can be put in a jar, tightly sealed and
    stored in the refrigerator for up to 6 months.

    Let me know if anybody decides to try it!

Comments (5)

  • I’ve been wanting to make some whey. Thanks for the instructions.

    How about a place to buy kombuchu mushrooms?

  • Hey!
    I get my whey from when I make kefir! I don’t know if you ever tried making that, but its very healthy too for all sorts of things. Its good for cleansing your face too, & drinking it. Whenever I make kefir , I always drain off some of whey.

  • Missusleata:
    Hey I saw your comment & left you a comment on you site on where I got my Kombucha mushroom kit from.

  • So what do you make with the whey or use it for?

  • I made whey following your instructions using yogurt. I was impressed with how it turned out. And the “left over” stuff is really good. We think it tastes better than cream cheese.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *