August 1, 2009

  • Word Flurry

    Since the advent of facebook in my life my poor blog has been woefully neglected as I’ve commented on in my last few sporadic postings on xanga.

    Soooo. Some general updates on us.

    - We are in the process of being approved for an adoption.  This first Adoption will be domestic, likely a baby from here in TN and very likely a minority. The process is a lot longer and definitely more involved than we had originally anticipated. We have two training classes yet to go, three group meetings, a psych evaluation, full physicals, background check and finger printing still to go before they can actually even do the official home visit. Oh, plus a huge pile of paperwork that I had started filling out but has been missing since our massive clean up due to putting the house we live in on the market whiiiich leads into the next update….

    - Our house is currently on the market. In this economy it is likely not going to sell and to be honest that will be a relief at this point.  The stress of juggling business, finding a new place to purchase and move to, and adoption all at the same time is more overwhelming than I can contemplate at the moment. We have a few more weeks to keep it on the market and then will gratefully take it down and will probably try again next year when the timing is better. If, and when it sells we plan to purchase a property not too far from where we are that has a lot less house and a lot more land. I still have a yearning to do little hobby farming things like hens for fresh eggs and maybe a beef cow or two. 

    - Noelle is a super smart two year old that chatters incessantly these days.  Her sweet, passionate, dramatic and highly intelligent personality never fails to keep us on our toes.  She is a child growing up in an adults world.  She is very ready for a brother and sister and is totally enamored with anything “baby”  Caring for her baby dolls takes up a big portion of her day and one of her tasks when she goes to bed is to make sure her babies are tucked in and warm as she goes to sleep with them.

    - I turned 27 years old in June. I look more like I am 37 which I attribute to my extensive maturity (yes, that is your cue to laugh hysterically =D) I am a much more open person than I used to be. Definitely a lot more confident. I read through very old blog posts from before I got married and wonder where the ditzy blond has gone.  People who meet me today have no clue I used to be a complete space cadet. I passionately love our life. I feel as though we are on a journey to becoming who we really want to be.  Seems a silly thing attempt to express in words but I have come to the conclusion in recent days that I have lived my life in reaction to what life dishes out to me almost my entire life. It is incredibly freeing to truly grasp the concept that I CAN be whoever and whatever I want to be, it is simply a matter of carefully counting the cost, making a decision and then pursuing the idea/dream/goal and paying the sacrifices along the way that are required. It is such a joy to discover anew that systematically discussing and making pro-active life decisions, problem solving and fighting for our goals together brings enjoyment to Steve and I. Having a husband that can be so much on the same page with finances, general life philosophies, child raising techniques and ideas, doctrine (or the lack of it lol).  I don’t think I will ever cease to be grateful for a man that has the ability, willingness and desire to talk all things that pertain to our life together. From the grocery budget, to what I want to wear or not wear, what educational philosophy we are going to choose for our kids, to how the business is run and what direction the company goes in he listens and genuinely respects my point of view.  THAT is absolutely priceless in my book.

    - Steve and I celebrated four years of marriage in May. A lot of big stuff has happened in four years. Got married, moved cross country, Two jobs obtained and quit, business started from scratch with business partners, multiple miscarriages, baby born, cross country move, business partners bought out and becoming sole owners/managers of the business, hirings, growth, losing valued relationships, hirings, trainings, growth, live in guests almost the whole time, and most recently another baby lost.  People said the first year would be the hardest. It wasn’t for us. In some ways every subsequent year has been harder for our marriage, new and deeper challenges to deal with. Learning the deeper levels of the other person and experiencing the days where nothing is what you expected life to be and stress levels are beyond high. Don’t think the learning curve ever stops in marriage. The relatively concentrated pain and stress we have experienced in our short years of marriage have compelled us into treasuring and working for each other where it would be all too easy to take each other for granted when walking an easier path in life. At the end of four years I can say that my confidence in who he is, the absolute trust I have in him, the respect he earns anew from me every day, and the love that I felt when I married him have all increased by leaps and bounds. It is the rare woman that can genuinely on every level of life respect the man she married after going through several of life’s knock downs and I am humbled and grateful to count myself among them.

    The early morning is slipping away through my finger tips and the caffeine from the too late at night hot tea I indulged in is wearing off. Time for me to slip into bed with my husband and catch a few hours sleep. Busy Saturday tomorrow, business meetings all day and overnight company coming in the afternoon. I love sweet times of fellowship with friends! We have been so blessed with the diverse yet very genuine friends God has brought into our lives.

    Until the next time the urge to write catches up with me…G’night.

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *